el telemarketer-o

It’s like they are not even trying sometimes…

0

So I get this letter in the email today…

Greetings,

My name is Marc Ronson, and I represent Adin Antique Jewellery. I would like to present a job offer as one of our finance processors. The part-time job incomes are 10% from the payment you receive depending on your activity in processing the tasks.

For example, for a payment in amount of 1000 USD you receive, your income will be 100 USD. Your incomes will be deduced from the amount of the payment received and the number of payments you can process on a weekly/daily basis.

Note that the payments will be sent to you by our customers and they can vary depending on the products they order from our company.

This job requires little of your free time, so if you are already employed it’s not an inconvenient.

Your tasks can be resumed as this:

1. Receive the payments via bank transfers;
2. Keep 10% from the payment you receive as your income;
3. Send the rest of the payment to one of our agencies in Europe.

If you are interested click the following link and complete the application form.

Click here to access the enrollment form

You will be contacted by one of our human resource managers within 24 hours.

Hope to collaborate with you soon,
Marc Ronson,
IT Executive Manager,
Adin Fine Antique Jewellery.

 

The link takes you to a well designed site but no matter how much time this IT Executive Manager put into the development, the scheme is the same.  Deposit funds that will not clear, have you send them your own legitimate money, and then when the bank tells you that the original deposit didn’t go through your out the money you sent them originally.

The site doesn’t even register to Marc, it registers to someone in China.  At least it wasn’t nigeria.

qian jun
jun qian 
+86.2122584512 fax: +86.2122584512
Zha Bei District,Da Dong road
Shang hai Shanghai 200085
cn

fake-twitter.png

The old bait and switch

0

So I get this email today,

fake twitter

The formatting looks good, the from looks odd but nothing to suspicious. I’ve never gotten a notification from twitter like this before but it is going to the church address and I do maintain the church twitter account.  I mouse over the link and find that it’s really going to http://desguacesvilabella.com/andean.html

At first I thought perhaps they want me to give them my account information but in the end it just ended up being an add for viagra.

The moral of the story: don’t just click on any link that “looks” official.  Go to the site directly and log in from there.

image.png

Buy our Adobe Reader

2

A colleague of mine found this in her inbox,

From: Adobe [mailto:newsletter@adobe-pdf-2011-upgrade.com]
Sent: Wednesday, February 16, 2011 8:43 PM
Subject: New Adobe Acrobat Reader 2011, Upgrade Available Now

ADOBE ACROBAT READER 2011 UPDATE NOTIFICATION
This is to remind that a new version of Adobe Acrobat Reader 2011 with enhanced features for viewing, creating, editing, printing and internet-sharing PDF documents has been released.

To check and download the latest version , go to :

http://www.adobe-pdf-2011-upgrade.com

Start downloading the update right now and let us know what you think about it.
We’re working on making Adobe Acrobat Reader better all the time !
Thanks and best regards,
Adobe Support

© 2011 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Adobe Systems Incorporated | 343 Preston Street | Ottawa | ON | K1S 1N4 | Canada |

It claims to be from adobe, although the domain is odd.  Even has their Canada corporate office address on it. surely it must be real? With all the adobe updates going around, I better update mine.  How nice of them to email me and remind me. If you click on the site, then you get this page, an alias for http://pdfprodownload.com/

image

and of course after you give them your email address to download, you must pay them for their software.

image

at least their processing page is secure..

image

It looks like we have Shawn S. to thank for this “deal” who he himself appears to have had his credit card scammed. 

Registrant ID:           AVNEP9R-RU
Registrant Name:         ANO “Regional Network Information Center”
Registrant Organization: JSC “Regional Network Information Center”
Registrant Street1:      pl. akad. Kurchatova, 1
Registrant City:         Moscow
Registrant Postal Code:  123182
Registrant Country:      RU

Administrative, Technical Contact
Contact ID:              AVNEP9R-RU
Contact Name:            ANO “Regional Network Information Center”
Contact Organization:    JSC “Regional Network Information Center”
Contact Street1:         pl. akad. Kurchatova, 1
Contact City:            Moscow
Contact Postal Code:     123182
Contact Country:         RU
Contact Phone:           +7 495 737 0601
Contact Fax:             +7 495 737 0602
Contact E-mail:         

 

The moral of the story, if your looking for software, get it from the official source.  Adobe.com for example.  If your software needs updates, go to the manufactures site or use the software’s auto update feature.

(602) 396-4345

0

+16023964345 Add – Glendale, AZ
10/7/10 1:18 PM 85 minutes ago

Hi, Congratulations. You have been selected to receive a complimentary cruise with Carnival Royal Caribbean or at C. L. Cruise Line my travel services press one to claim recruiters and talk with the life Travel Specialist. Don’t wait. Pretty soon as the great way to relax and go on vacation, press one now, or press 2, to release your offer if you would not be contacted again press one now.

Turn Around Business Development Group, INC

0

So I got this call from this guy yesterday,
Voicemail from:”this guy” at 1:34 PM

Hi John, I’m leaving some very important information in your box is. And with the with the C D in it and it as a letter of explanation so. If you will look it over and read the letter and get back to me. I would appreciate it. Thank you.

So i’m kind of curious but ok.. I went by to pick up the envelope and in there was a note from Pastor, and what looked like a cd printed with some office depot cd printing software. Not a very professional first impression. A logo of “Turn Around Business Development Group, INC” and “BI.T.S”, Binary IT Solutions and a number, 702-233-2487

Also was a card entitled “Website Start-Up Info”
The card is basically a welcome letter “to bring increased exposure to your business”

So i pop the cd in my mac and besides the fact that there was just an autorun on it for pc, (not like i want some strange cd autoruning anyway) I saw what looked like a complete website site’s source files. The best i can piece together, this company came to that guy and said that they would make a new website for him. and this is it. I’m not quite sure how to describe it so i’ll just show you what they sent. Note, this was designed to be published as it. they seam to think this is a complete and accurate site ready for the world to see. In the application from the company they even asked for our current site’s ftp info. (perhaps they wanted to push this content themselves?)

No where in any of their documentation did they mention their own website or other sites they had created. So I googled them to see what i could find.
This one was one of my personal favorite results.

It just goes to show that before you enter into a business deal with anyone, be sure and do your homework. You don’t need a private investigator, just google.

206-455-6971

0

Another telemarketer:

Transcript via googlevoice (not a perfect translation but easier than actually having to listen to the message…)

4/13/10 12:40 PM 33 minutes ago

Hi. This is cold with consumer advocates debt elimination. If your debt free. Alright honey. Do not call list, please press 2, to be removed from our list. However, if you are one of the millions of Americans overwhelmed by a debt. Our, thirties may be able to set you free from debt forever. Through get it. Limitation this is not debt consolidation not debt management not bankruptcy. This is debt elimination. It’s video m thousands of people just like you have taken back their life. The process is legal ethical and they squirrelly on federal law, press 1 to speak with our consultants about eliminating your debt. Today you received this call because you signed up with one of our associates. If you received this call in error, please press 2, to be removed from our list or press one to speak with a consultant.

401-889-9876

Didn’t answer it, but a quick Google search has confirmed that it is indeed phone spammers. Just a head’s up.

el-telemarketo-free!

2

I was looking at sites refereing back here and found this post

http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-859-212-1501/11

I went back and found that I’ve been call free since July!  It also looks like i wasn’t the only one being harrased.

402-620-7143

0

They are using a new number now.  Same callers.. same scheme, just a new number. 

www.donotcall.gov

859-212-1501

0

i’ve quit answering them now…

6-19-07 12:20PM

6-20-07 2:14PM

6-21-07 10:27AM

Go to Top